Agnostic.com

17 1

When?

at age 50 I realized no gods exist ,how about you?

Nogodnohate 5 Jan 7

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

17 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I was about 35 when I started having my doubts. I read about the founding fathers and discovered Deism. I studied this for years and label myself as a freethinking agnostic now.

I never really believed, but around 34 (44 now) I started to realize it was all BS.

35 for me

It was more of a gradual process that started when I was still a child. It started with doubts, that grew over time and were reinforced as i learned more and more. I publicly declared my atheism at 23, although I had privately become an atheist a few years before.

There is no one day I woke up as a non-believer. I would describe myself as always being perpetually curious and instinctual, till I realized sometime in my 20's that "faith" is an active choice to shutdown the curiosity and intellect we are born with. It is a form of conditioning meant to keep you inline.

My second epiphany came when I discovered and understood the ramifications of the innate human tendency of anthropomorphism. Our entire species has evolved with this tendency to compare everything to ourselves, thereby never really seeing the thing or object we are discussing from an objective point of view. In fact, that line of thinking brought me to the whole concept of existentialism.

So for me, it has been a life long process.

Just this year, well, 2017. I guess that's not this year anymore, but within the last year 🙂