Agnostic.com

5 1

12 STEP GROUPS
There's been some discussion of 12-step groups here but I don't think there's been a general discussion of them in one place. I have been working a 12-step program for 6+ yrs. I would've gone sooner but it took me awhile to figure out what to do with all the 'god-stuff'. I had to create my own higher power, rewrite the serenity prayer, substitute 'connection' for 'spiritual' and figure out how to respond to any possible theistic bullying. Any other non-believing 12-steppers out there?

kmdskit3 8 Jan 8

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

5 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm going to be honest, at the moment I'm too lazy to read all the comments. That being said, I've been doing AODA counseling for about ten years. I've been in the mental health field for about 30. I've seen twelve step programs help some people, and I've been a little uncomfortable with the amount of 12 step bashing on the site.

There are many good skeptical critiques of twelve-step stuff. I recommend the books of Stanton Peele (https://www.amazon.com/Stanton-Peele/e/B000APH1ZW ), and Ken Ragge's "The Real AA" (https://www.amazon.com/Real-Aa-Behind-12-Step-Recovery/dp/1884365140/ ). Online, read the more recent "Surprising Failures of 12 Steps" in the Atlantic magazine (https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/03/the-surprising-failures-of-12-steps/284616/ ).