Agnostic.com

9 0

Any ideas for cutting back on caffeine?

I'm a programmer and while I used to be a sort of god, I've grown somewhat fat (hard to tell because I'm extremely tall, but it's there) and hopelessly addicted to caffeine. It's bad enough that I wake up feeling slight withdrawal symptoms (headache, slow mental acuity, difficulty giving a crap about anyone or anything), so I want to figure out how to at least control that aspect of my health before I start working out again, so that in theory when I do work out, I don't have to do so with a Whomping Willow of a headache. (My workouts are always at 6 AM, due to my work schedule.) Thanks for any tips!

#god
PolyWolf 7 July 31

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

9 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'll keep running my engine on coffee 'til the day something breaks or when I get a flat line.... If it's quick the I don't mind

I'll have a cup of coffee and think about it.

When you have cut down you might like to try peppermint tea as a light pick me up instead? I like it mid afternoon as a substitute sometimes.

Sounds to me like your whole lifestyle is nothing but stress. But what to do if it's needed to pay bills? If it's a bit self-inflicted, may be time to go smelling roses instead of coffee.

Drink a cup of coffee....then slowly eat an apple. Repeat 3 times each morning for 2 weeks.
Then Take the coffee down to 2 cups and the apples up to 4 for 2 weeks.
Finally, two apples, then one cup coffee, then 3 apples.
Then....switch to hot, naturally caffeine free herbal teas....and keep eating apples in place of the coffee.

[blogs.cornell.edu]