Agnostic.com

6 7

Part 1 of 2

I was born into an Evangelical Christian household and got “saved” at age twelve. From that point, I studied my ass off – always within the bible, biblically based works, or Strong’s Concordance – to learn more about this amazing thing I’d recently discovered. In short, I obsessed.

I always had questions, though – like how Jesus said, “Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfil” (Matt. 5:17, KJV) meant that the old testament law was invalidated. Really? ‘I came not to destroy but that means you no longer have to do X, Y, and Z’? It never made sense to me.

One of the BIG things I got from all religious exposure, in my neck of the woods at least, was Purity Culture™. At age twelve, I made the purity pledge; I had a purity ring and I would forgo large parts of normal adolescent sexual development for the next thirteen to sixteen years.

I was also raised to be a biblical literalist and believed it so much that I was genuinely a little surprised when fellow believers looked sideways at me for things. After all, if Creation in Genesis was to be literal, then shouldn’t Leviticus be literal? Shouldn’t Paul’s Letters be taken literally? The first weird thing I did was cover my hair in church (1 Cor. 11:5, 6). Of course, this got tangled up in Purity Culture™ and turned into covering my hair all the time because I was "married to God until He brought me my husband."