Agnostic.com

3 1

I change my metaphysical perspectives to fit my moods. I don't see why I shouldn't.

Aldous Huxley said this about the matter: "Officially an agnostic, I 'feel' the presence of devils in a tropical forest. Confronted, when the weather is fine and I am in propitious emotional circumstances, with certain landscapes, certain works of art, certain human beings, I 'know' for the time being, that God's in his heaven and all's right with the world."

JonJacobs 4 Oct 21

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

3 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'm a writer. I write every day, and that's kind of my work. But there are times... usually when I think I'm done for the day when something shows up... Something amazing just seems to take over and I'm filled with "inspiration." To be clear, we're constantly inspired, and even when the work is hard and difficult, we are still working under inspiration. But this is different.

At some point, it's as if the story is telling me, not the other way around. I'm suddenly just a copyist while the story opens up to me. Are these the muses? Is it the Universe's story breaking in? Is it my mind opening up? I don't know, but I refuse to bastardize that experience by forcing it into an explanation.

I have a friend who, very carefully and respectfully, tussles with his "muse" over timing. His muse likes to show up when he's in traffic and can't act on his ideas. I don't know where these ideas come from, but I'm not going to insult them by claiming it's "just my mind."