Agnostic.com

17 3

About life

This whole “go to college, get a degree, get a job, pay your debt while investing in your 401k plan, sit at desk, work until 65+ then retire and die” life….
ain’t it.
Do you agree? If yes, what’s the alternative?

ildkom2006 4 Oct 2

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

17 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Be a pirate. Works for me.

For many, sound about right. The alternatives run the the spectrum. Some are born wealthy and never have to work. Others become ill/unemployed and die far before they reach retirement age.

I was fortunate, I went to university in Canada where it’s cheap. I have a job I love. It’s long hours but only three days a week. It leaves me plenty of time for my boys and volunteering.

I was a realtor, mortgage broker, insurance agent and securities dealer… All at the same time! In the interest of not blowing my brains out I now work at a music store, you got to do what you love. We spend way too much time working to do something that sucks.

The alternative is finding that thing or things you love to do, what you have a passion for, and spend your life creating wealth through those interests. Have you heard the saying "If you love your job then you'll never work a day in your life"? 😉

There are people who find such a life entirely satisfying, and it's not for me to tell them they're supposed to be miserable.

What's important, I think, is that each person does what floats their own boat, to the extent possible and feasible.