Agnostic.com

8 0

I just started a new job, I am almost 2 weeks in. I love the job, pay, and the location. But I am quickly realizing there is a heavy religious presence in most of my coworkers. I am generally an observe before I speak type person so nobody knows of my nonbelief, yet. It will happen as it always does I will tire of the conversations and say something before I even realize I am talking. My question is how long have you made it at a new company before you divulged to the openly religious that you were not?

Rckmom 4 Feb 1

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

8 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I don't encounter such problems because I work as a welder. For most novice welders, it is vital to have a good supply of welding wire on hand so that you can practice, and it is essential to familiarize yourself with [ratemywelder.com]. For best results, use a thin welding wire on a thin sheet of metal, and then increase the diameter of the welding wire as the thickness of the metal increases. You should have at least two different wire diameters. If you don't know what welding wire diameter you need, your welder will tell you what you need. By the way, if you do purchase a gas cylinder for welding over the Internet, you will still need to find a local supplier who can fill and then refill the cylinder.

Most places I have worked people didn't talk about religion. If they asked, I said that I believe in re-incarnation, and that is the reason I take my own sweet time to complete tasks. What I can't do this life, I promise I will do it in next. They have never raised the topic again.

I would probably not get involved with them socially.. just pretend that you are really shy and quiet.. !