Agnostic.com

7 4

As a photographer I get asked many times what photos I'd never take, my answer is very few, the odd thing is for years I have wanted to set fire to a bible and photograph it, but for some reason I can't, is it wrong of me despite my views of there is no God etc to want to do that? Also, I've been asked to photograph a nude shoot in a church, so again would that be wrong or just immoral?

Johnjo 4 Oct 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

A nude shoot would only be immoral if you tried to do so during their so-called services. I've always considered any bible to have only one practical purpose, kindling, so I can't see how it would be wrong.

Both shoots would comprise great symbolism and allow artistic expression in uncommon ways. If you consider yourself an artist you should have no compunctions about either shoot. Hopefully, your artistic expression outweighs any regard for convention. Listen to your heart and be true to yourself and your hesitation will melt away. Suggestion: Light fire to a church and take pictures. That will make these other shoots seem mild in comparison!

Deliberately offending others, even if their beliefs are not correct, is hurtful, therefore immoral.