Agnostic.com

9 1

I hope people aren't annoyed that I chose this category for my question, but I really want replies from some "deep thinkers" and/or those trained in psychology.

With that being said, I may blow this from the beginning by using a "pop culture" phrase that may annoy the expert, but I don't know what else to use.

Up until recently, I had jobs were I worked independently and didn't have to work in groups or have a boss looking over my shoulder. I now have a job I like, but I'm perplexed by two of my co-workers' behavior. Both of them seem overtly passive-aggressive.

My question is this: What is the best way (some of the best ways) to deal with passive-aggressive people? One of the two people mentioned above is not my boss, but has some power in the company and I don't want to handle this the wrong way.

I'm also relatively new to this workplace, so I'm learning the culture and such.

Any input, discussion or advice is welcome. Thank you!

orange_girl 8 Feb 4

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

9 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

It is early days,
I think show from the beginning you are assertive, that you are not aggressive in any way, but no push over, that you stand your ground. When they are being passive aggressive, treat it as aggressive, and push back a little so your boundaries stand. If it is a comment made, address the bit that niggles you, no matter how gently they have couched it, do the same.

Passive Agessive is the worst personality trait in business. The person who exhibits that trait is the weak link. When two people on the same team have it? It drags everyone down. They will sabotage...most of the time consciously aware that their action/inaction is a form of punishment to everyone else.