Agnostic.com

24 1

Any ideas about how to overcome fear in public speaking? Are there any people that improved this skill? What about techniques used for?

I think one of the greatest skill is public speaking.
It's a new challenge for me to improve this skill and that's really hard for me because I have a lot of fear. I watched more video about techniques to overcome fear and to be a good speaker.
I strive for progres in public speaking.

Sensiwoman7 6 Nov 14

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

24 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I was a US Army instructor for Food Service Sanitation for 33 months. I have given classes on other subjects as well.... my advice; know your subject and be able to answer any questions pertaining to your subject. Repetition builds confidence....

Thank you so much!

Practice! Also... When speaking to a larger crowd... Pick out 4-5 people in different spots and speak to them. That way it looks like you are speaking to everyone! Once you relax a little... Start looking at others.

Another good thing is to do "checkbacks"... Asking your audience if they understand or have questions. It gives you a break sometimes and you ensure they are understanding your content.

Thank you so much!

In America, public speaking is the biggest fear, over death. Over 10,000 people attended my seminars in my first seven years of business, for groups up to 1,000 people. Based on years of public speaking:

Fifteen Tips for Public Speaking

1. Preparation. Research and write down what you want to say. Type your notes, print in large font with numbered pages. Circle, bold and underline key points.