Agnostic.com

10 2

I am a photographer...have been for nearly 35 years...I have digital SLR's and film 35mm SLR's...what is the best in your opinion....digital or film...

James121 7 Feb 10

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

10 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I worked in a pro photo lab for 9 years...Film processing, slide processing, machine printing, large scale printing to quality control and spotting pics...dust ect...but then digitization came to the lab and one machine could do the work of 12...so even though negatives were the best...digital has taken over for being a cheaper method...but to be honest now most cameras are really point and click, with the viewer on the back giving TTL so what you see is what you get...depth is automatically adjusted, Camera companies don't want complications...Manual SLR's on the other hand everything was adjustable, shutter speeds, focal depth, film speed....anyone ever push a film...miss those days....sometimes..

They are both tools, and have their strengths and weaknesses. It really depends on what you are doing and what you are most comfortable with.
It is kind of like asking which is better oil paints or watercolors?

The truth is using film is just not practical. I have a fabulous Olympus 35 mm auto SLR camera that cost an arm and a leg 20 years ago, a beautiful camera, but where am I going to take the film? And then what, scan onto my computer? I look at it now with sadness. It's a beautiful relic. I used to do BW print photography back in the 70s. Doing that stuff is wonderful to do. But just like I don't think I could go back to BW TV, I know my film days are over. And film is just expensive.