Agnostic.com

12 1

What were the major turning points in your life?

Marine 8 Feb 14

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

12 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Losing my mother then 10 years later my youngest brother. Having twins daughters at 35 then a son at 42. Divorced at 52 then ex died a year ago. Then second best was retirement only after my kids.

At 16/17 left home and school and began work
21 bought 1st house and got married
26 & 28 had kids
29 retired
35 separated
36 rejoined work force
43 semi retired
51 rejoined workforce
54 semi retired

Circa 1988 I was a college freshman, I decided to read the Bible cover to cover to really get to know it. That backfired.

Circa 1997 I read "Demon Haunted World."

2002&3 I read all the new atheist books coming out post 9/11.

DHW really did transform how I saw the world and approached knowledge. And in so changed my entire life.

Walking across the United States in 1990 as part of A Global Walk for a Livable World. There were about 100 of us on and off. Quite amazing to see the country at 15-20 miles a day, starting at the beach in Santa Monica and ending at the United Nations in New York City.

Getting married

Becoming a parent

Going back to school in my 40s to earn a Master's in education and become a teacher

Having my marriage end and seeing the world as a wide open canvas.............

Oh yes, and seeing the Grateful Dead 54 times