Agnostic.com

3 2

It's interesting to see all the new atheists

It's kinda funny. I left the Southern Baptists in the 80's and the christian faith as a whole in the 90's. I was agnostic until around 2005 and atheist then anti-theist in 2007. I studied comparative religion and the Upanishads along with other sources until 2012 when I sought refuge in the Buddha and his dharma and the sangha.

My beliefs are secular of course. I ultimately feel we are all part of a universal consciousness - christian, muslim, atheist, whatever. We're all going to the same destination ... just following different paths to get there.

But along the way you start noticing people falling in behind you. Discovering the same path. The same books, the same arguments, the same questions, the same conclusions. I find it interesting to see the wide variety of people who end up here in some manner and when/how. So many different beginnings.

It IS possible to find a stopping point. A place where you feel your search has ended. I found one and hope all of you do as well. When you do make sure to help those who fall in behind. Everyone's path is a little different but we all are human and have similar leanings. I think eventually man will evolve past this need for selfishness and be more like his true self. But we have to help each other get there.

namaste

JeffMesser 8 Feb 10

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

3 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.