Agnostic.com

7 0

Post Christians...do you still have dreams of church themes?

I was brought up in Christianity from the age of 3. Since realizing its fallacies and flipping to agnostic atheism I've had Christian based dreams. Things like end of days, some of the people (dead or alive), and the sexual abuse. Am I alone in this or are there others? Why am I having such dreams and why so often?

ashortbeauty 8 Mar 8

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I don't have the dreams but because of the 5 relgion classes I took at the Lutheran college where I got my first degree. I can still give many of the biblical versus and Lutheran doctrines.

So from what I've gathered from y'alls helpful answers, since the abuse is related to the church, that it's the reason why I'm having "end of days" type dreams plus all the other crap. That makes sense. Ty

Even though I was brought up Christian from as early as I can remember I never really believed in god. So I have never had any Christian dreams. And I’m glad they sound like nightmares to me. I’m sorry to hear you were sexually abused. I can’t imagine how horrible that must have been. I hope you bring that up with your counselor. I have many female friends that have been to counseling for sexual abuse and it seems to help them. I hope it works for you.

You need counseling for that sexual abuse. It is a traumatic event that takes a long time to get over. That could be the reason for the dreams, specially if the abuse is associated with a person that was religious or the church.

Yeah I'm in counseling for another issue, but I haven't broached that subject yet. Maybe that's what's bringing this all to a head. Thanks for your input.

No, but post sex I still have dreams about sex.