Agnostic.com

5 2

Thoughts on chimps and bonobos

Chimps are run by a dominant male. He is the only male to get sex. The food is not always give out fairly. Plus chimps are violent. Bonobos on the other hand that look like small chimps, are run the older ladies of the group. Everyone gets sex old and young. Everyone gets food. They do not hurt each other like chimps. They are very passive.
I just wondered what people thougths are on this.

#sex
arronpaul46 6 Mar 17

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

5 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

It's dominant, not dominate. And it's not true that only the dominant male gets sex. I can speak to this becasue as an undergrad I got to work with chimps at the University of Oklahoma and the Institute for Primate Studies, the longtime home of Washoe, the sign language chimp. Most chimps are not violent but blustery and engage in "theatrical" displays to show how tough they are, actually do share food (although a lot of begging is involved), punish chimps they see as greedy, and display altruistic behavior, such as a case where chimps, who can't swin, went into the water to rescue another chimp. I also got to work with bonobos. They are definitely much calmer and sexual (and use the missionary position and the females engage in lesbianism.) As to dominance, I'd point out the case where a troop of chimps killed a dominant male who'd been driven out as a tyrant. Some of the females actually ate parts of him. We humans (the third chimpanzee, as Jared Diamond calls us) share traits with both groups.