Agnostic.com

8 2

Hello everyone!

I've been working on an idea for a while now, and I wanted to asked my fellow Atheists/Agnostics about it before I shared it with the rest of the world...

I'm an Atheistic Minister. Ever since I was ordained in 2011, I’ve asked myself, “What would an Atheist preach?” The Atheist community is incredibly diverse. The only real common ground many of us share is our disbelief in God(s). Many of us don’t even agree on what it even means to be an Atheist. I’ve been pondering that question for 6 years. I’ve talked with lots of Atheists and religious people alike, and I’ve done a lot of, for lack of a better term, ‘soul searching’.

After all that, I think I’ve come to an answer for my question, ‘What does an Atheist preach?” I think the better questions is, ‘What does THIS Atheist preach?” The answer: I actively practice critical thinking skills, I actively avoid logical fallacies, I encourage open discussion, I promote compassion for others, I promote diversity.

I hate where the country is right now. There is so much anti-science and anti-reason out there. I refuse to live in a world that doesn’t value reason, and the truth.

What I propose is a space where anyone in the congregation gets a chance to present something to the group, whether it's something they feel is amazing about the world we live in, or something they feel needs to change. I propose a community of Free Thinkers that value above all else: reason, compassion, honesty, and respect for other people's differences.