Agnostic.com

13 5

Anyone here belong to a parody/mock religion?

For me it's Dudeism, an upshot of the movie "The Big Lebowski" where Jeff Bridges plays "the Dude". A drunk travel writer in Thailand watched the movie in a bar and thought - "Hey, I can make a religion out of this!" I am indeed an ordained Dudeist priest... Lol.

Hominid 7 Nov 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

13 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I liked the movie, but have never been into making "idols" out of characters or celebrities. I worked as an "extra" on movies and TV shows for about 10 years and met a l0go of celebrities and I dont' see why people are so enamored.

I did like the Cohen brothers film though. Although I like some of their other films more, like "Raising Arizona" "Fargo", "Miller's Crossing", "Oh Brother, Where Art Though" and "Barton Fink". "The Big Lebowski" was good too, but not their best work.

It's the furthest thing from idolatry... and /or being enamored by the cast of a movie. Maybe you're missing the point of harpooning religion.

Here in the Philippines I belong to The League of Transverse Souls, The Church of The Free Spiirit (where you buy1 and take 1 bottle free), The Congregation of Disoriented Souls, and The Inner Galactic Soul Maniacs ( sort of exclusive dating and mix and match community in the flesh)

Yeah, I belong to several of them, but to me they are as useless as mainstream religions. I do think dudeism is cool though.

Their uselessness is partly why they exist!

I am also a Dude. 😉