Agnostic.com

2 1

Politics meets "religion"?

I rarely see any YouTube ads since I have a Red subscription and use Brave Browser but on the rare occasions I watch YouTube with my work account and browser I seem to see ads pushing "Epoch Times" quite a bit. When the latest one started plugging the tell-all on the Chinese COVID-19 coverup I became suspicious. It didn't take long at all to discover they appear to be associated with Chinese "religion" falun gong. According to the Wikipedia entry they are "primarily known for promoting far-right politicians across Europe and the United States, and in particular for its promotion of U.S. President Donald Trump; a 2019 report showed it to be the second-largest funder of pro-Trump Facebook advertising after the Trump campaign". Even better "The group's news sites and YouTube channels have spread conspiracy theories such as QAnon and anti-vaccination propaganda"

Okay then... I guess their claims to be independent and free of bias should be taken with a pinch of salt and Chlorox... Seems like Epoch Times and RT (Russia Today) would make a lovely couple at an alternative media dinner date.

Reading more about Falun Gong it's hard to figure out what is going on there - apparently the West often describes it as a religion but they themselves don't. However being labeled a religion makes it easier to fight for your right to practice some things under the guise of "religious freedom". Kind of reminds me of the recent story about the State that was trying (did they succeed?) to ban yoga from school because it was too religious - or rather too not Christian religious...

prometheus 7 May 20

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

2 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.