Agnostic.com

14 10

Tilting at windmills. Struggling with text speak.

"Of course we stan Simone Biles," I read in an article on Huff Post this morning. To understand what I'm reading, often I look up text speak in magazine and online articles.

"What does "stan" mean?" I looked up on Google.

According to Urban Dictionary, "stan" is a blend of the words "stalker" and "fan," and refers to someone who is overly obsessed with a celebrity.

Text speak is confusing and annoying. As a published author, I strive to communicate clearly.

"Is this the perfect EV for Chelan County?" is the title of a story from the local public utility district. What is an "EV"?

Feels like I'm tilting at windmills.

NOTE: Tilting is jousting. The expression 'tilting at windmills' derives from Cervantes' Don Quixote - first published in 1604, under the title "The Ingenious Knight of La Mancha." Don Quixote tried to right the wrongs in the world through acts of chivalry.

Your thoughts?

LiterateHiker 9 June 9

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

14 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

How are you tilting at windmills?

Possible portmanteau problems with chortle, smog or motel?

[en.wikipedia.org]

@waitingforgodo

It's a metaphor.

i love playing with words and stuff. its not like language is made to be preserved, it's there to do a job. to be a functional language it must be at least as plastic as its environment. get past the rules if you can. get with it or get over it y'all.

Says the guy who hasn't mastered punctuation.

@Secretguy nor capitalization, nor golf, or biscuit making. mastery is a joke anyway.

I don't do text speak. I use full words, proper punctuation, and I'm slower than hell, but also clear as a bell.

We need more Sancho.