Agnostic.com

4 3

lol.. Perhaps something to chew on. If the universe has no beginning, then it has no edges

hankster 9 Dec 27

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

4 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

A Möbius strip has no beginning and it has one edge.

an infinitely wide mobius strip don't.

maybe a circular mobius strip or a circular helix mobius.....hmmm.

@hankster That's an interesting concept.

Even as the universe is expanding, seems to me there would be an edge, though it's a moving edge. My thoughts on the "beginning" of the universe is that it's likely more of a "re-beginning" from the collapse of a previous universe, but I'm not a scientist.

An edge such as you describe would require the universe to be expanding into some other space. As far as I know, we have no evidence either for or against the existence of such other space. While it may seem counterintuitive, rulers in an expanding universe will grow without the universe itself needing to expand into something that is external to the universe.

@anglophone Perhaps it's expanding into the collapse of a previous universe. I don't know. Just thinking out loud, since it's so far unknown and fun to think about.

Yes, finite but unbounded is the current thinking last I checked.

maybe, I'm not thinking finite or infinite just existing or not.

That is even included in some versions of the Big Bang theory.

how? the bb has a beginning don't it?