Agnostic.com

3 1

What is consciousness?

Sam019 2 Apr 24

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

3 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

"I think therefore I am" - Descartes

It’s awareness.

Personally I see consciousness as an emergent property of sufficiently capable brains (processing power and both long and short term abstract memory) and the development of language and self awareness. This produces a sort of "observer" (as a computer programmer I tend to think of it as a background task, even though there are limitations to that metaphor as the brain is NOT a fancy computer, it's more of a pattern [mis]matching engine). This observer remembers the past, sees the present, and can predict the future based on extrapolation and comparison to other similar beings who are older, and it sees something it does not like. At all. And that is mortality. Hence, the "human condition", existential angst, and the various immortality projects that most people are obsessed with.

There's a hypothesis (untestable, unfortunately) that at one time this "observer" was a quasi-separate personality, that would speak to us and we would literally hear. Jayne's hypothesis of the bicameral mind says that we all heard voices in our heads and assumed that was the gods talking to us. Later (in the past 4 to 6 thousand years) we have become unicameral (well almost all of us; there are some schizophrenics and other people with psychoses who still hear the voices at least some of the time) and while we still have an inner thought life we don't hallucinate or personify it. The spiritist / animist religion of the bicameral mind has become the polytheism or monotheism of the unicameral mind.