Agnostic.com

3 4

Took note of a fun blog ‘America’s worst mom.’ The point of the blog is to promote the idea of ‘Free Range Kids.’ When describing my childhood I thought I had created this term; seems not. At one time my mom let me ride my bike along a busy highway to get out of Sunday school and attend dancing class. Once, I tried to take a short cut and saw a road through some woods. Seems I was on restricted property. I was picked up and my dad was called (he worked at the firm I was trespassing). It was an error on their part, a gate was left open, but, still, I was given a warning.

”A journalist by trade, Lenore spent 14 years at The New York Daily News as a reporter-turned-opinion columnist, and two more at The New York Sun. In 2008, after her column "Why I Let My 9 Year Old Ride the Subway Alone" landed her on every talk show from The Today Show to Dr. Phil, Lenore founded the book and blog “Free-Range Kids.” These launched the anti-helicopter parenting movement and garnered her the nickname, “America’s Worst Mom.”

She is also a part of a magazine: reason.com [reason.com] which I think some of us on this site would be interested.
JackPedigo 9 Nov 13

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

3 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.