Agnostic.com

18 7

Journal, anyone?

Does anyone else keep a journal? If so, why? And what sort of things do you record, generally; no need for specifics.

I have been keeping a journal of random thoughts an musings for a couple of years now; and a travel journal primarily for observation and recall for around the same length of time.

The latter, I began on the trip I took with my daughter to Scotland 2 years ago this month.

Condor5 8 May 10

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

18 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I used to then my ex read them and used it to cause arguments with me ..Who knew writing about someone you met once 5 years before you knew your current partner could end up being a 3 year argument

Was the information in your journal stuff you had intentionally omitted divulging? Or, you simply didn't think necessary to tell; i.e., past is past, no need to bring it up.

@Condor5 the sentence in question " had a great night at work there was a new lady there really cute shame she was a bit young early twenties I think " I was 32when I wrote it 35 when I got together with my ex . Yeah my math isn't that good either

@Simon1, hmm, sounds pretty innocuous to me; of course, that's just another man's perspective.

I used to keep a journal.

Lots of people swear by journals. I imagine they serve as a kind of container for memories, thoughts and emotions which helps someone move on in life. Journals might help avoid rumination.

There are times I wake up in the middle of the night and am unable to let go of a thought; writing it down allows my mind to release it.