Agnostic.com

27 6

Is God addicting?

Do you think God can be an addiction for some, like alcohol, drugs or gambling?

Tecolote 7 Dec 29

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

27 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Actually, the chemicals in the brain, dopamine and serotonin, are what causes addiction. Dopamine and Serotonin are released in a pattern brought on by outside stimulation of pleasure. So, if a person is experiencing an extreme feeling enough times, they can become addicted to anything- even the concept of God. 🙂

@ksmartines Yes, in fact I agree totally, as neuroscience (not that I'm an expert) has shown this. Sam Harris has noted this in his own research in this field. Addictive chemicals come from all heightened activity, I understand, essentially pleasure, and we are all susceptible to them, not always addictively though, and it's not so much "even the concept of God" but especially religions and religious activities. Religions play to this with religious theatre and pomp and circumstance to add to the allure, concealment of the fact that at heart all they have are bogus claims and unproven assumptions. The most obvious examples are evangelists who (as a business model) build up the feel-good chemicals in people at their events, then when they are 'high' hit them in the credit card. "Jesus is waiting for you when you call.....(with your card).". But the high doesn't last. They drop out. All religions do this; some just do it more soft well;

Religion is adult thumb-sucking. So, ya.

Cool answer ????

Religious experiences light up the very same areas of the brain that are effected by heroin, cocaine, and sexual release. Evidence strongly suggests that it is indeed addictive