Agnostic.com

9 8

Hello everyone. I’m a grad student at UA and it’s been a trying one. Alabama is quite a different state. I’m not religious and cringe when people mention it, probably because I grew up in southern Baptist and non-denominational churches (that one that speaks in tongues or whatever) and in Christian School. I am so over it.

I am trying to take a more active role in politics and elections (Doug Jones, anyone?) and find myself doing more volunteering for such. This one pulled through by the amount of people it would take to fill 1/5 of the college football stadium. Yikes!

I want to meet open people, non-pedants, who care about humanity and our planet and can see the good in those around us without turning to an archaic text to tell them whom to hate. Hate has no place in my being. Hopefully, there are a bunch of you like-minded people out there. People who understand that if we’re going to survive, if we’re going to come back from this dark place, we will only get there together.

ToastyWarm 3 Jan 2

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

9 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Hi. I'm right down the road from you. Some friends and I meet up at the Crimson Castle for board games and d&d. If you're interested, feel free to message me.

Alabama like most of the South, seem to have more than a fair share of redneck bible thumping militants with the IQ's of a pea. I'm sure you've had some rough run-ins, so applaud your decision to think for yourself.

Re: the margin of victory. Y'all have a very large college football stadium there, last time I checked.

Anyway, there's an active atheist meetup groups in Birmingham and Tuscaloosa. As well as Huntsville, but that may be a bit farther than you want to drive.