Agnostic.com

26 6

Do you volunteer in your community?

It's one thing to proudly wear the badge of "atheist" and "humanist" but I wonder if you feel the urged to volunteer for a specific cause around your own community? How do you give back? Do you feel other causes close to your heart?

Redcupcoffee 7 Jan 3

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

26 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I’m a teacher and a single parent. I have zero time.

Being a teacher, especially given the unfairly low salaries in most places, is a form of community work, in my opinion. Thank you!

Thanks

your time will come !

I volunteer teaching music at a performing arts school for underprivileged students, I've volunteered at various youth organizations over the years but this one is the best- we have former students on Broadway, in movies, on TV etc. These were kids who had to eat all 3 meals at the school because their family couldn't afford good food for them. It completely changes their lives.

I volunteer with County Elections to register voters.

Most recently at the Federal Courthouse for a Naturalization Ceremony.

We've had similar posts-but its good to get it out again-I recently moved my daughter and her boyfriend with 4 members of his family into my home. They were all living in a bad neighborhood with high rent and minimal space. We are now an extended family. I also have my ex-husband of 20 years who is terminally ill and disabled living under my roof. I have a nurse come in for him every day and recently added a ramp and electric stairway. I also help clients at the food bank with clothing,xtra food, gas money, etc. as I can.

Wow.... you are a saint. Very lind and generous.

Hats off to you @sassygirl3869!