Agnostic.com

21 1

Is the universe amoral?

Is the universe indifferent to good and bad? Or are there forces or energies that are constructive and destructive? Asking for a friend.

• 39 votes
  • 3 votes
  • 1 vote
  • 20 votes
RickTheChemist 4 July 23

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

21 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

The Universe is amoral, humans are immoral, the current President is both.

I almost picked the answer is 42. I'm also a chemist.

I'm of two minds here. The literalist in me (admittedly the stronger if the two voices) believes that the universe, as a construct, is devoid of its own consciousness and therefore has no ability to have feelings or opinions one way or another.
The other side of me (The philosopher? The romantic..?) believes that we (life, and particularly intelligent life) ARE the manifestation of the consciousness of the universe, which would mean that your question would find it's answer in a poll of all life on the within.

The unverse does not have a conscious mind. Therefore, it has no concept such as morality.

What proof do you have for your statement?

@WilliamFleming Let me reverse your question: What evidence do you have that the universe has a conscious mind"

@wordywalt But wait, I didn’t make the assertion that the universe is conscious. You made the bald-faced assertion that the universe is NOT conscious. How do you know such a thing with absolute certainty? Evidence please. Proof if you will.

I do LEAN toward the concept of universal consciousness, and yes, there is evidence:

[scientificamerican.com]

[google.com]

[jcer.com]

[m.huffpost.com]

[google.com]

I voted for the answer being 42, just because, but the truth is the universe doesn't give a shit.