Agnostic.com

8 3

QUESTION Does gender matter? | Nature

The gender disparity in science has always perplexed as well as frustrated me.

As a scientist, I am a harsh critic of data. Opinions don't matter. Anecdotes don't matter. The "appeal to emotion" fallacy doesn't matter. I don't care about that meme, or that YouTube, even that your mother's, best friends, uncle's cousin's doctor who works at the "super big Institute of astounding advancements" says it's true.

All I care about is evidence. I don't care if that evidence was presented by someone with an "innie" or an "outie" below the belt. You can be a tripple PhD and still be dead wrong, even in your own field. Most scientists I know are the same way. Given our attitudes towards research, evidence and data, the fact that gender makes any difference at all is ironic and frankly unscientific.

As much as I hate anecdotal testimonies, I went out of my way to experience being a woman online and created Amalia Stange. Lemme tell you, Baby was put in a corner more times than I could count. I was condescended, ad hominem attacked if I dared speak out against anyone with the Sacred penis, had rape threats and soooo many dick pics. Jeebus Cleetus! WTF is it with men and their dick picks? You'd think they used them as currency at the flea market. And I baited them too. As a woman I would post some research. I'd get mansplained and dismissed until a man came to my defense. My knights in shining armor <puke>. A few days later I'd post the same research in another forum as my regular self and had meaningful scientific dialogue. As a man the conversation was mostly scientific.

Don't get me wrong, I get told I'm an idiot plenty as a man too. It's just... the tone is different. I dunno. It's hard to explain. You just have to be a woman to understand 😛

ScienceBiker 8 Jan 13

Enjoy being online again!