Agnostic.com

24 5

Levels of intimacy

I'm a musician and I find playing music with others an intimate thing to do. The guys I play with primarily are dear friends and no more I'm interested to know what people think intimacy is and to explore the different levels noticed in different types of relationships?

Guttermoss 4 Aug 20

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

24 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Someone explained it to me this way, and it made perfect sense: Intimacy means "into-me-see" -- It allows openness, vulnerability, honesty, compassion, and genuine communication. It can exist in any relationship -- with a romantic partner, a platonic friendship, a family connection, anyone you feel close to -- allowing someone to see inside of us and vice-versa. Intimacy makes us feel connected and appreciated, and in some relationships, loved.

I don't know how to play any instruments but sharing music woth someone who has similar tastes can feel intimate to me. When I find a good song that makes me think of a special person, and I send it to them. Intimacy has many levels, holding hands, cuddling, having a deep conversation, sharing a laugh or moment. Just telling someone you love them can be intimate. I think it just depends on how it makes you feel.