Agnostic.com

17 0

Do you believe American medicine was designed to help humans heal or are we making/keeping people sick?

• 14 votes
  • 10 votes
Dida 7 Jan 25

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

17 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I think helping is inherent to medicine. However, modern pharmaceutical business is designed to make money.

OK FACT - I HAD a terminal disease. Modern medicine cured me and I'm now healthy, my only objection was the cost was over 100 grand.

@Dida - the cause was a callous, unthinking military commander using improperly trained medics. Infecting thousands of airmen during basic training.

world medicine I would say knowing humans is a bit of both.

I work in the medical field and I haven't seen anyone keep people sick for profit. There are enough really sick people in the world that it's not necessary. Even the opioid epidemic, I believe, is perpetuated by well meaning health care providers who want to treat people's pain. I'm not talking about "pill mills" where there isn't really a doctor-patient relationship--those are a different story. I think we're starting to swing too far in the direction of "opioids do more harm than good" and a lot of people are in pain because of it.

I think it's an "intention vs. competence" issue. Dunning/Kruger affects at all levels of achievement. It's easy to overlook what you don't know. Wide definitions for things like autism and cancer defy superficial pathology. We are on various thresholds of breakthroughs that it's easy to overestimate our abilities and employ them against billions of years of natural selection.

Treat symptoms but maintain illness to maximize profits.

yep !

I voted hurt, because of overprescribing and over diagnosing. Which go hand in hand.