Agnostic.com

15 3

Microcosm of the future relationship

“I would make an excellent sous chef,” Stuart bragged on the phone. As a retired attorney who doesn’t cook, he was arguing against this part of my profile:

“Although I’m a great cook, I’m not willing to do all of the meal planning, preparation and cooking. Everyone loves the magic words, ‘Dinner is served.’”

Recently Stuart spend three days at an Air B&B in Wenatchee. I took him for a walk on the riverfront, and a four-mile hike around Icicle Gorge. I was raised to be a gracious hostess.

Through online dating, I learned the default for men who don’t cook is to sit while women slave in the kitchen. Stuart sat on his butt while I made three meals a day.

Breakfast was particularly galling. My food got cold while I repeatedly popped up to slice pears and set items he wanted on the table. I wish I had said, “Get up and get it yourself!”

Worse, he criticized my cooking (salmon was too dry at the thin end, my roasted almonds were not dark enough, wrong oatmeal, ad nauseam.) This was rude and ungracious. When someone cooks for me, I never criticize the food.

“Where did he take you out to dinner?” my hiking partner Karen asked. “Nowhere,” I replied. “He never took me out for dinner, nor offered to help pay for groceries I bought.”

“He’s a cheapskate,” Karen replied. “Everyone knows you take your host out to dinner. That’s just good manners.”

FLUSH.

LiterateHiker 9 Oct 5

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

15 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.