Agnostic.com

12 4

Do you ask or let them tell?

I have no concrete knowledge, and as a straight woman, my radar likely isn't the most sensitive, but I wonder sometimes if my son may be gay. He's 16 yrs old, and I'm confident he knows I would have no problem accepting him for whatever he may be. He's a lovely human and I would never want him to change. I've had gay friends tell me to remain objectively supportive but not to address it directly. To let him come out in his time, that addressing it before he may be ready could do more harm than good. But as a mother, it breaks my heart to think he may spend any part of his life not accepting who he is and I feel like there should be something I could do to help him get there sooner, to encourage self acceptance, and if there isn't, I still want to be prepared to deal with things constructively in the background. Thoughts, suggestions, and other experiences welcome.

Amzungu 8 Dec 19

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

12 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

My parents were divorced when I was only 3 years old. My mother told me that when I was in my early 20s, my father asked if I was homosexual, because I never seemed to have a girl friend and spent most of my time on things to do with cars, and many of my friends were homosexual. If truth be told, I was far too busy "discovering" the world to be wasting time on girl friends. I loved theatre, so many of my friends were indeed "gay", both male and female.
Eventually, I started to find female companionship quite rewarding, especially if they could fix a car, help out in a photographic dark room, or handle a screwdriver.
Then I discovered they had another trick up their sleeve (or was it skirt?) and blew my father's doubts well away.