Agnostic.com

5 3

LINK Trump Called Nepal And Bhutan 'Nipple' And 'Button' In Intel Briefing: Time's John Walcott | HuffPost

I wouldn't call what Trump displays "willful ignorance". I'd call it more "MILITANT IGNORANCE"! He parades it on display proudly and defiantly! (And the rest of the nation cringes...)

BookDeath 8 Feb 5

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

5 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Ok, so riffing on "militant ignorance" here:

I have had plenty of experience with people who passionately defend their "right" (or whatever) to be ignorant or uninformed, shun education or correction, and/or look down on "elitist" academic types. "My opinion is just as good as yours (even though I'm uninformed on the topic)" kind of stuff. It bothers me, and ive been trying to parse it in the back of my mind.

First, there's the culture of anti-intellectualism that's been present in the USA since shortly after "the USA" was a handful of colonies populated by pious Puritans. Then you have egalitarianism, which postulates that "we're all equal". If we're all equal, then all our ideas and opinions have equal merit--right? We don't have to put stock in those that have more education, or experience in a specialized, than us--right?

I feel like there's more to it than that, but Im only an armchair sociologist--and TBH I couldn't get through Hofstadter's Anti-intellectualism in American Life on my first go-round--so I could use some perspective here...