Agnostic.com

13 0

Does science reject atheism?

A recent article in Salt Lake Tribune talks about a scientist (Glesier) arguing atheism is unscientific. Is atheism unscientific or is he ignoring burden of proof?

Welsh_dude 4 Mar 19

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

13 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Science should not reject or asset atheism. The question falls into the realm of religion and has little to do with science. Science is a totally different paradigm and the two are mutually exclusive in my opinion. Just because I do not believe any God or higher being exists now or has ever existe. As a scientist I find no connection with my lack of belief and my science. I have no truck with religion of any sorts and do not figure my beliefs have anything to do with religion.

Surely not.

he sounds like either an idiot or a propagandist. is he a mormon? at any rate, no, science does not negate atheism. science doesn't actually deal with atheism, which is either a belief in the absence of a deity or a lack of belief in the presence of a deity. science doesn't study that.

g

It’s hard to say without reading the article.

If they mean positively asserting there is no god, then they may have a bit of a case. If they mean simply not believing, then they have less of a case.

I'd have to read the article. Can you post it?

Generally speaking, science does not validate any belief, or lack thereof. It's just science. I've certainly seen no evidence that it "rejects" a lack of belief.

I posted something below that appears to be the article in question...or at least about the scientist in question.