Agnostic.com

11 4

Army gets heartbreaking answers after asking, "How Has Serving Impacted You?"

[slate.com]

Jeffrey Scott wrote: "I am a Navy vet, I was a happy person before I served, now I am broke apart, can't even work a full 30 days due to anxiety and depression, i have Fibromyalgia and nobody understands because I am a guy. I am in constant pain everyday. And I think about killing myself daily........"

Sean P. answered:

"The “Combat Cocktail”: PTSD, severe depression, anxiety. Isolation. Suicide attempts. Never ending rage. It cost me my relationship with my eldest son and my grandson. It cost some of my men so much more.
How did serving impact me? Ask my family."

Karen replied:

"I lost my virginity by being raped in front of my peers at 19. Got married to a nice guy who was part of my unit. He was in the invasion of Iraq. Came home a changed man who beat the shit out of me. He’s convinced y’all are stalking him and he’s homeless so great job there!"

LiterateHiker 9 May 28

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

11 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

I'll give you my response, having done a couple of operational tours, nothing as intense as the soldiers that we're talking about.
The first, is that we do adapt to our environment, whether it be high stress combat or high stress civilian life. We have them, but I think that it's the swing between the 2 realities that causes some of the biggest dislocation.