Agnostic.com

16 7

Atheist Military Service Organizations?

Hi all, so I am an active duty combat veteran (still in the Air Guard though) and really love the idea of what military service organizations do for their fellow veterans and communities, but every one I have belonged to (VFW, American Legion, etc) all have a core tenet of worshipping the Christian god in all of their events, be it monthly meetings or most anything they sponsor. That really throws me off, and I refuse to be a part of any of them for that fact.

My question is, does anyone know of any MSO that is atheistic? If not, would anyone happen to know what opportunities there may be to start one? I imagine that it would probably get quite a bit of traction, especially with the current generation of veterans.

atheistnny 3 Oct 21

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

16 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Belief in God and an afterlife in Heaven is a good way to sell the idea of a military career. I served in Viet Nam. The night before start of a dangerous mission I often heard my Christian buddies say that if they die they will be happy to be with Jesus. WHAT BULLSHIT!!!! Promoting religion with their Chaplains keeps soldiers from questioning what is really at stake.....their life ending or being maimed.

Here in Hawaii we have the M-A-S-H (Military Atheists and Secular Humanists) based on Oahu. When I would fly over for Secular Humanist meetings on Oahu, there would be several miltary folks attending too. There might be one where you are stationed?

[facebook.com]

There's a Free Thinker meeting Saturday mornings at the old airport under a monkeypod tree in Kona.

@rogueflyer Huh! Good to know, if I ever get to Kona again, I'll look into that. Thanks!