Agnostic.com

26 4

Do you 'wear your heart on your sleeve'?

What are your thoughts about this?

By atheist8
Actions Follow Post Like

Post a comment Add Source Add Photo

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

26 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Not as much as I used to, but I'm not very good at hiding my emotions. If I have an emotion I express it and I think the more we are ourselves the closer we connect to others. The problem with allowing ourselves to be vulnerable in this way, is that not everyone is comfortable with it. I've found I've installed a little fence to protect it from those who might take advantage. smile001.gif

Stacey48 Level 8 Mar 24, 2018

Nope, buried deep, locked it up, and threw away the key!

Archer Level 7 Mar 24, 2018

Sometimes. I'm told I have a monotone type voice, so I could be very happy and few would know by the way I talk, but sometimes I do get quite emotional.

I do and it tends to get broken a lot. But I don’t know any other way.

I'm the same, and I know how you feel smile003.gif

What heart?

KKGator Level 9 Mar 24, 2018

Nope, and I don't appreciate being treated like there's something wrong with that (not by you, OP--by people in my life who are more floridly demonstrative).

Just because I don't show my feelings (like you do) doesn't mean I don't feel my feelings, or that I'm "bottling" them. It means the conduits that translate my inner workings to my outer apparatus are narrower than yours. That's not a defect; that's a natural variation.

FFS, people: there's no right way to do feelings.