Agnostic.com

8 16

I had a really good conversation with a co worker this week. As a consultant, I rarely discuss or even hint at my political or “religious” beliefs, it’s just not the place to do so. But we discussed the protests, she brought it up.

Her daughter is a teacher in New York city and has returned to work, which I knew would cause her concern. The daughter has talked with her about what people choose to read since she is an instructor of literature among other things. Emily Style first brought up this theory. The theory is that people tend to choose either windows or mirrors.

A mirror is a way to build up your own culture and reaffirms your identity. A window is a way of learning about others cultures or other’s experiences. I think this is an important distinction.

I think if people would analyze what they migrate to in their reading choices and explore the possibilities of why they do so could be enlightening. Maybe it would encourage them to open up and read more of the opposite point of view. You could be surprised at what you may learn and it may alter your previously held conviction.

I do read some conservative articles but when I fact check them, I find them mostly full of bs. I fact check most everything….for a reason. If someone else offers a different viewpoint, I sincerely consider it and evaluate it unless it’s spewed “Faux” news channel. That’s not even worth my time.

I have always tended to gravitate to windows. I’ve always been an empath type of person and I’m sure this helped hone it further for me. Teaching me to be even more empathetic to all no matter color, religion, anything.

My reading list is constantly changing and always widely varied. I know that all don’t share my experiences or understand why I may believe something. At least I’m willing to listen to yours without judgment. Not all can say this unfortunately.

Larimar 8 June 6

Enjoy being online again!