Agnostic.com

12 1

Ham and short wave radio

Anyone familiar with short wave international radio broadcasts or ham radio

michaelj 7 Apr 14

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

12 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Yeah, I've been a ham radio operator and SWL for over 45 years. Love it, lotta fun, And I have talked to over 2,000 people all over the world!

N7EIE Level 6 Apr 26, 2018

Had an old grundig hand held shortwave reciever, it was a lot of fun. How did you start out?

Realistic DX150

I did some fm pirate broadcasting awhile ago. The FCC kinda got mad at me.

JeffB Level 6 Apr 15, 2018

With the internet, the short wave broadcasts have become less interesting - BBC dropped the short wave broadcast to the US many years ago -- but my NPR stations broadcast BBC overnight. On the prairie when I was a kid, had a SW receiver - fascinating - w/ a long line antenna had just as much fun picking up AM broadcasts from the ionespheric skip -- after sunset, I could get Chicago clearer than Denver! Check Amazon for a book of SW stations that broadcast in English - had a copy when I bought a small Grundig for my man cave. The real hoot is tying into the Radio telegraph broadcasts - running them into an 8 bit Baudot converter and reading out the results -- a guy at work did this (tapped into the UP, raw news feed) - and gave us printed out news that never seemed to get in the paper -- quite a guy. The internet has "apps" that tie you directly into your local police/fire/ems broadcasts - eliminating the need for a scanner. Quite a nice hobby though, kinda long for the romance of radio.

Nope.