Agnostic.com

23 9

Do you Google?

If someone posts a term, acronym, or topic I'm not familiar with on this, or any site, I Google it.
Only if I can't find it (ie, it's not Googleable) do I then ask for clarification.

Is that not the norm?

scurry 9 Apr 18

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

23 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Google is my friend.

As a Google contractor, I can tell you, this is what's up. Yes.

Soooooo, you work for the Devil?

It's how I roll. I find social media acronyms the hardest to track down, though.

The Urban Dictionary is very helpful for those.

@KKGator ROFL, LMAO, YOLO, FFS. 🙂

Sure, ask, you’ve done your due dillegence, if google and context clues don’t do it it’s only polite to be certain the person is properly understood.

Yes, apart from I use Ecosia...for the tree planting benefits.

I don't think I've found anything that google couldn't come up with, but I guess then you would just ask the person who used it. Everyone (for the most part) is nice on here.

Ok - so... is it ok or not ok to reply with a bit of sarcasm when asked for clarification a completely googleable term?
Asking for a friend...?

Copy that. It's a nice community (as you say, for the most part).

@scurry I sometimes refer them to lmgtfy.com

For example: [bfy.tw]

@AdorkableMe that's well worth the click! Thank you!!

@scurry It depends on the question being asked. I don't think being sarcastic is a kind or friendly way to respond and would not choose that route as my answer.

If I post I work for the ABA and you ask "What is the ABA?" it takes less time for me to type the American Bar Association than to say "Duh, you livin' under a rock or somethin' -- doesn't your computer know how to google?"