Agnostic.com

3 11

Tired of canned messages, I answered literally. Critiqued his profile. Ha!

On Fitness Singles, instead of writing a personal message, most men use canned, lazy pull-down messages:

Great smile! Wanna chat?

I'm interested in learning more about you. Let's chat.

Today for the thousandth time, a man sent me this canned message:

I liked your profile. What do you think of mine?

My reply

What do I think of your profile?

My favorite part is your username: ThoughtfulHiker.

Especially like: "I love to hike, travel, and laugh about the absurdities of life." Me, too.

Paragraphs #2, 3 and 4 lost me. Too vague and hard to read. And I have a master degree.

I suggest you clarify and shorten those three paragraphs. I thought "Oh, dear," and skipped to the ending.

Kathleen

p.s. Since 2006, I have been a volunteer college mentor at the high school. I help students apply for colleges and scholarships. I'm used to reading meandering, run-on essay drafts. Couldn't resist answering the question literally.

LiterateHiker 9 Mar 1

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

3 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

@anglophone, @HippieChick58, @Robert_2001, @RichCC, @bobwjr

His reply is funny and delightful.

Hey Kathleen, thanks for the compliment! We are literate AND thoughtful.

Paragraph 2: I have worked and volunteered. I'm a good man.
Paragraph 3: First sentence's ok, the rest is essentially don't let the past shackle one.
Paragraph 4: Men tend to be klutzes (sp?) about communicating feelings.