Agnostic.com

3 15

Over 55 years ago, I was a high school teacher certified in both science and social studies. I did not ask what i could teach in 8th grade history. I just taught the truth, warts and all. When the principal asked me not to teach about evolution in biology, I told him that I did not have the option of withholding not serious scientific information.. I informed him that I was doing to teach a nit on sex education in a biology class. He just shrugged his shoulders and said, It's your ass."

If I were teaching U.S. History today, I would teach the truth and facts about slavery, the Black code, Jim Crow laws, ad the institutionalized racism embedded in southern culture and the effect of those issues on both blacks and white southerners. I would take care, however to also say that one only needs to feel shame if he or she has personally done something wrong. What their ancestors did rests on their shoulders, not on someone today. I would also truthfully say the following:

: "At least 3 or my 4 great grandfathers owned slaves and fought for the Confederacy. Having grow up in the southern culture, I am sure that they were acting as they did. But they were very wrong, and their actions were both immoral and treasonous. I feel no personal shame for their actions. They did it, , and I did not. But, I also will never honor those actions on their part."

To all teachers of American history. I say: Teach the truth, but lake care to make students understand that the shame does not rest on their shoulders. Do it, even if your job is threatened. If you are fired, get th best lawyer and all the legal help you can, and take the school district and the offending state law to court and fight like hell!!!!!

wordywalt 9 May 10

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

3 comments