Agnostic.com
5 9

Our hot, dry summer was tough on my Pacific Northwest Native Huckleberry (vaccinium ovatum) and I had thought the earlier blossoms were just cruising into winter dormancy. An afternoon of raking up leaves, trimming back fronds and general cleanup yielded a nice surprise snack of the late-developing fruit, at least a few handfuls the birds and squirrels left me!

tinkercreek 8 Nov 23
You must be a member of this group before commenting. Join Group

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

5 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Very thoughtful of the birds (and squirrels?) to share with you. I am just getting started with blueberries, southern varieties. Planted my first bushes last year and added one more this year of the variety that bore me the most last year. I thought about huckleberries as they are said to be less fussy about sun and soil pH. Nice to hear someone taking the huckleberry route with such easy success.

And I just caught one of the little scavengers on camera!

You are very lucky all the same. I always seem to be too busy to go hunting wild berries, but I have told myself that retirement will bring back foraging, it is one of life's great joys.

Fernapple Level 9 Nov 24, 2021

It certainly is, and in my own back yard!

Better than nothing! Hope you enjoyed.

KateOahu Level 8 Nov 23, 2021

They were delicious and sweet!

How lovely!

How much did you finally get? Here we got a bumper crop of blueberries. I have a small orchard with some 25 trees but am giving it up as being a part of a gleaners group I can get lot’s of fruit without so much work. At one orchard I was able to get 25+ lbs of blueberries.

JackPedigo Level 9 Nov 23, 2021