Agnostic.com

7 2

Triple digit IQ's

I have come to the opinion that only people with double digit IQ's will brag about having triple digit IQ's.

What do you think? True or False?

Normanbites 7 June 20

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

7 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Statistically speaking, I know every single person on the planet with a 180+ IQ. I'm pretty sure at least one of them might be lying...

It's been a while since I studied statistics, but since the average is 100 and standard deviation is 15, a 180 is 5.333σ above mean. In a normal distribution, I think approximately 1 in 40,000,000 will be above that. With 7.6 billion people in the world, there should be about 190 with IQs above 180.

@cmadler That is another myth about IQ scores. It is assumed there is a standard scale of IQ scores. There isn't. The only thing that is standardized is the score of 100 is the mean.

Beyond that a score of 90 on one test might be 80 or 100 on another test. And that doesn't even discuss the inherent biases in the testing.

One of my best friends is Mensa, over 130, he does not have a problem showing his card.

Secondly, they set the median high school graduation at 100. Anything below 80 is mentally challenged. 100 to 110 are every day clerks and workers. 110 - 120 are basic managers, need to have a 120 or higher to get on a sub, so now you are at uper level managers, college BA, teachers ect. 130 IQ doctors, lawyers, ceo of large corporations, borderline genius. 140 or 142 Genius IQ starts. Intelligent Quotient. Albert Einstein was a 160.

You can postulate on the rest.

Etre Level 7 June 20, 2018

Don't recall seeing anything like this before .

@Cast1es not sure I follow, taken from first hand knowledge and Dr. Jordan Peterson.