Agnostic.com

15 0

Is Divinity a Religious thing?

Does the idea of divinity have a place within atheist thought? I think life after death would hint at the possibility that religious is a human construct but divinity could be something else.

JSchaper 6 July 27

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

15 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

it is imaginary. far from being "something else," it is nothing, as it does not exist. no, divinity has no place within atheist thought. it is a theist concept. exceptions: it's a lovely candy and it has been used to describe bette midler.

g

I don't believe there is divinity. I do believe in things being sacred. As a midwife, I believed that the place of birth was sacred. A place of reverence, peace, safety, in respect for what was happening there. My home, daughter and pets are sacred to me. I love them and take joy from their presence. My artwork, books, family pictures, and the stuff that reflects my personality, in my home are sacred since I love it all, they are precious and irreplaceable to me. I do not think of these things as divine though. I don't think anything is divine, or infused with God. Also, the things that are sacred to me, are not sacred to anyone else.

Divinity has to do with gods. It's as simple as that. There is nothing divine. Nothing sacred. Maybe divine and sacred to YOU but not to others or at least not in the same way. Then it all becomes a matter of perception but divinity has to do with gods. This is where the term "divine" came from. People talking about their gods.