Agnostic.com

13 4

Why haven't you uploaded a pic?

So much of communication is non verbal. Personally I like to see who it is I'm talking to as much as is possible in this digital world. Why do some keep the default Avatar?

ScienceBiker 8 Jan 11

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

13 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Ever been a woman online? Didn't think so.

As for why keep the default..meh. I'm lazy. I'm also contrarian, curious, and whimsically experimental. I'd like to see how people respond to me as a non-visualizable entity. Honestly I don't care that much about it either way. I might upload something someday.

I'm not a privacy freak, so I don't object to the idea of exposing my face, but I've had plenty of experience not liking the way people treat me based on my looks. Online I get the choice. In meatspace I either have to deal or stay indoors. So I mostly stay indoors.

I've always wanted to be invisible. This is the next best thing.

@ScienceBiker That's smashing! I'm thoroughly impressed 🙂

I upload something relevant, just prefer to not have my likeness all over the net. The idea of being gawked at tinder-style while strangers decide if I am bangable creeps me out, to be honest. I am seeking conversation, not sex.

Aaaannd after reading the other replies: No, I am not ugly, don't hate myself, do not think I am better than anyone. If not having my picture up causes others to pass, THAT is worth knowing up front, thank you. (;

Zster Level 8 Jan 11, 2018