Agnostic.com

11 5

Hi all! I'm a musician, pianist (for my own enjoyment these days) and choral singer. I've been involved in singing pretty much my entire life, starting back in the church days. I stuck that out because I love to sing. Now, though, and for many years, I've sung with a professional choir. We do the oratorios, like Mozart's Requiem and Beethoven's 9th, among others.

Much, if not most, of this music is religious in nature; we rarely sing secular works (although Verdi had his complicated relationship with the church, so I have claimed him as a closeted at-least-agnostic).

I am often asked how, as an atheist, I can perform religious works. The answer is easy - I love the music. It is beautiful and uplifiting - and since it is in Latin or German most of the time, it is easy to overlook the religious aspects of the text, at least for me.

Thoughts? Someone told me I am delusional, but at least I'm happy. 🙂

poetdi56 7 Jan 22

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

11 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

It's all art. Any art that is created from passion is to be appreciated as far as I'm concerned. It's no different than appreciating 400 year old paintings even though they may be religious in nature. Or watching a movie or reading a book that has a religious nature to it. I've heard some contemporary Christian music that is incredibly beautiful both lyrically and musically.

Duke Level 8 Jan 24, 2018

I think at times we let our biases lead us down a literal path that prevents us from a personal interpretation, and possibly an appreciation of some very lovely things.