Agnostic.com

24 2

Would you work an environment if everyone else was religious except you?

I used to work as a music teacher a year ago. My other tutors that I worked with, were... nice I guess, but always felt that I was not really in with them, mostly because they were all christian. Although it was never stated outright I did have a sense that perhaps my work collegues were a little less friendly and inclusive simply because of my lack of religion. Has anyone else had a similar experience?

Slimboyfat 3 Sep 9

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

24 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

Of course! It wouldn't bother me unless it bothered them. I will say this; I own my own company, and I don't hire people who tell me upfront about their religious views. Only because it feels manipulative.

Usually goes like this. I run an ad looking for a drywaller or painter or what have you. I get a response that tells me little about experience and quality, but emphasizes that they are "Christian" or "a Christian company". I dismiss these immediately as people who are unable to discern important information. I just couldn't care less about the religious (or lack thereof) views of my personnel. I care about reliability, quality of work and presentation.

I think these people who do that think that Christian=honest, which I have never noticed to be true.