Agnostic.com

10 2

Please Help Me Not Call My Doctor a Pompous Bloviating Ass

Of course, he is. A condescending prick. Luckily, he was only my doctor at a walk in clinic.

My problem is that while what I really want to do is bitch-slap the man to kingdom come, I actually think it would be better if I could trigger him to think about his behavior. Thus I want to write him a letter that will not piss him off, at least, only a bit. I am a very good writer but also not all that good at containing my anger.

My mother and I both have very specific health problems, one of which is that we repeatedly get bacterial infections which make us quite ill and need antibiotics. This was fine back in the day when doctors gave ABs out like candy. But once they decided to quit doing that and only give them to people with strep throat (which both my mom and I have had so many times we were long immune by our 30th birthday), we were both at the mercy of how much a doctor is willing to trust their patient to know something about their body their doctor does not know. When it comes to a male doctor and a female patient, this fails pretty often.

As this time. On Tuesday my mother was very ill with, yes, a bacterial infection, and I brought her to the doctor. The doctor, being a woman, listened to my mother with me at her side, actually comprehending that my mother, having been inside her own body for 84 years, mom got be right, and gave her an antibiotic, which soon helped.

I took every possible precaution but was not all that surprised Thursday night to get a bit of a scratchy throat, have a feverish night, and during the day on Friday develop exactly the same symptoms that my mother had had.