Agnostic.com

74 5

Did the Bible make you an Atheist?

The more I studied the Bible, the more I thought it was bunk. I was astounded by the number of contradictions. Anyone else?

tdtallent77 4 Oct 9

Enjoy being online again!

Welcome to the community of good people who base their values on evidence and appreciate civil discourse - the social network you will enjoy.

Create your free account

74 comments

Feel free to reply to any comment by clicking the "Reply" button.

No arrogant theists, and especially some of my school teachers made me an Atheist.
(Including one who tried to teach his pupils that animals had no feelings or emotions, only mechanical behaviour which just seemed to replicate human emotion, and that therefore it was wrong to feel empathy for them. Which made me realize that:- One, if you go down the religious route you will end up accepting any rubbish to make it fit your theology. And. Two, being a complete psychopath is a big help in a teaching career.)

I would qualify (theistic teaching career) I teach people to use (testable, verifiable science and scepticism to make the best informed decisions.

@NoMagicCookie Yes It was just theistic school teachers, that is what I meant, though this was a long time ago and most school teachers were theistic in those days. I am of course talking about the UK where the separation of church and state was never a fact, and indeed R.E. was the only subject teachers were compelled to teach.

The Christian Bible made it so I did not accept that the Christian God exists. As for the other countless gods I have reject too. It was a long process for me to become an atheist. World religion classes also helped. I can't say it was only one thing, but loads of different reasons.

I did forget to mention that continuing on research and learning several fields of science helped as well.